Mudras have always been an important part of the yoga classes. But how many of you are aware of what they are? Principally if you are new to your yoga lessons, it might all get puzzling. Which mudra to use and when? What is the difference between them? Confused? To make things clear, let me define it for you! ‘Mudra’ is a Sanskrit word.

It means a symbolic hand gesture that has the authority of producing happiness and bliss. Yes! Did you know that your hand poses have an inherent healing power that can heal quite a lot of disorders? No? Well, this is true! Your hand gestures during meditation convey precise goals of controlling the energy flow of your body.

Let us understand yogic mudras for the well-being and longevity!

There are several kinds of mudras. Each kind has a surprising effect on the body and soul by clearing the spiritual cores and energy networks. Even though hand mudras are the most common, there are several other postural, head, lock and perineal mudras.

The twenty-five essential yogic mudras are:

Maha mudra


Nabho mudra





Shakti Chalini














Yogis have used these mudras broadly for thousands of years as they convey harmony, calm, and spiritual progress. Let us have a look at some famous mudras you would love to give a shot.

Anjali Mudra:  Anjali means “offering.” In India, this goes along with the word “Namaste.” Carrying your hands together in front of your heart represents integrity and admiration toward the world. According to the yogic outlook, the heart embodies a Lotus at the middle of the torso. Anjali mudra nurtures this lotus heart with sentience. Hence, it mildly inspires it to blossom as water and light strikes the bud.

Jnana Mudra:  The word ‘Jnana’ in Sanskrit means knowledge or intelligence. And so, ‘’Jnana Mudra” literally means the spiritual sign of wisdom. By placing the thumb tips and the index together to form a loop you get your hands facing upwards. It kindles an opening effect. It specifies that the personal self is parallel to the Supreme reality Brahman.

Abhaya mudra: “Abhaya” means courage. So, the “Abhaya mudra” represents protection, harmony, and the dismissing of panic. Hold the hand upwards with your palm facing outwards. The armrest is bent at the elbow while the fingers together. The hands outstretched in Abhaya mudra signifies “calming the ocean” while the gesture denotes an episode when the Buddha stopped a river flood.

Dharmachakra mudra: Dharmachakra means “the wheel of Dharma.”The Dharmachakra mudra forms when the index finger and the thumb of both the hands touch the tips to create a loop. The mudra epitomizes that the teachings are right from the Buddha’s soul.

Shambhavi Mudra: Shambhavi is a powerful mudra that calms your mind and lets you experience greater stages of mindfulness. By staring at the eyebrow center, you can go beyond your mind and can reach the stage of Samadhi. This exceptionally treasured practice in yogic and tantric texts has its reference in the Gheranda Samhita.

Yoga Mudras – A way to heal body and mind!

Utterly distinctive and based on the belief of Ayurveda, yoga mudras are assumed as a healing technique.From harnessing power, controlling anxiety and boosting your energy, practicing mudras can have a severe impact on the way your bodies and souls feel. Mudras produce a delicate connection with the natural patterns in your mind.

Thus and so, it relaxes the unconscious impulses in your body and mind. In turn, your internal energy gets stable, affecting the variations in the body tissues, glands, veins, and muscles. To know more about these mudras, sign up for the Yoga Classes in Goa – right now!